I was just watching video interviews of high school students. They were reflecting on their experiences watching video testimonies of survivors from the Holocaust.

One articulate young woman said this:

“I could read a transcript of what they said quite easily, there is a lot of text out there, but it is sort of like in their smiles or the twitch of their eye, or their facial express, their posture, that tells me more about their story than the story itself, and I think that it is important to take advantage of the technology we have in order to capture that in people. … I feel so much closer to them in that sense that, and it’s also something that I’ll forget less easily, honestly. Because like at school there is so much pounded into us every day it’s a miracle I can tie my shoes, but, like, I think I’m going to remember what they said. And what else can you ask of a student than to take a hold of what they are being taught? ”
Another teen said this:
“In a book, like, it’s just a story. You can learn about it, and learn all the details about it, but it never really seems like it actually happened, like this couldn’t have actually happened to people. But when the people are sitting there, looking at you, telling you their story face to face, it’s so much  more interesting and engaging. And you just feel more connected to it. And I just feel like I learned more that way than I ever could have reading, like memoirs or in a textbook or anything like that.”
I typed up what these two young women said, and then I wished I could share their actual video interviews with you. You know? I would explain why their videos are so much better than my transcripts, except I think they both already did that for me.
